“Preity is nominated along side Susan Sarandon at the Genie Awards 2009” – Deepa Mehta

“Preity is nominated along side Susan Sarandon at the Genie Awards 2009” – Deepa Mehta

Photobucket

Heralded as the most imaginative director working on social issues surrounding the women of today, yesterday and tomorrow, Deepa Mehta is the creative mastermind behind films such as Fire, Earth and Water to name a few. Her films are known to create pandemonium amongst the politically incorrect society of today but her latest film Heaven On Earth AKA Videsh has brought the politically correct society to stand up and not only notice this extraordinary piece of story telling but also recognise it. How? Well, Preity Zinta won the Best Actress award at the prestigious Chicago Film Festival last year and is now nominated along side Hollywood actress Susan Sarandon at this year’s Genie Awards to take place in Canada in April. Now with so much surrounding the film, Deepa should have gone all pink, but instead, the talented Mehta goes all purple. Believe it or not, the Holi colour isn’t just coming off her face. “My friends have painted my face all purple and I am scared to get out of my hotel room and attend press conferences”, she said. Exclusively speaking with our London correspondent and UK’s Harrow Observer columnist Devansh Patel, the affable, confident and dynamic Deepa lets her demons out in this exclusive Bollywood Hungama interview where she reveals of her inspiration to make films, her aspirations to work with Amitabh Bachchan and Rani Mukerjee, her next film with Akshay Kumar, her new find in Videsh, Vansh Bhardwaj, her coming together with the Oscar winner A.R Rahman and why she can deal with the authenticity of India far better than the West.

Under what name is your film releasing across the globe besides India?
Across India, the film will be released with the name Videsh and in the rest of the world as Heaven On Earth.

With a story so strong and its message out loud and clear, do you think a change in the name of a film really matters when it’s speaking of a universal subject?
I am not the distributor of the film, I am a filmmaker. If the distributor knows that the change in the name is helping the Indian audiences, I will listen to them because that’s not my expertise.

Jag Mundhra had shown some startling issues surrounding a Punjabi woman’s plight in his film Provoked. Are we going to see your woman, Preity Zinta, going through the same torment in Videsh?
I must say that Heaven on Earth or Videsh is very different from Provoked. It’s like what Shakespeare said – There are three stories in the world and its how you tell them that makes one different from the other. Yes, this story is partly about domestic abuse, but for me, the film is about the power of imagination. When reality becomes so grim, how can you use your imagination to liberate yourself? That is what the film is about. The milieu is of course the isolation of the first generation working class immigrant, whether they are in the U.S, the U.K, Australia or in this case Canada because it’s the first generation that suffers the most.

Let’s talk about the word ‘universal’ then. How universally inspired you get to tell stories every time you make them?
I am attracted to stories; I don’t sit down and say – What is going to be my next film and what its issues are. If the story is generally about a subject that I wish to know more about or I don’t know so much about, I get glued on to it. For example, it was the sectarian war in my film Earth which really intrigued me at that point in time; also, Rwanda was going on at that time. I just couldn’t understand the whole concept of sectarian war. I wanted to explore it further and that’s why I did Earth. I used religion to cover up the marginalisation of certain sections of the society, it’s a misuse of religion by society and that’s how Water came around. Heaven On Earth has a lot to do with and understand the word ‘abuse’ in a larger canvas. It just doesn’t come out of nowhere. Everybody is a victim, even the abuser. The point is there is no black and white. That’s what motivated me to do Videsh. It’s not about issues but wanting to know more about something.

Let’s talk about your new find – Vansh Bhardwaj. Tell us a bit more about this talent.
He is amazing. It’s his first film. He was a lead in the play I saw, a play by Neelam Maan Singh Chowdhary. He did Girish Karnad’s Naag Mandala. I was so blown away by the play that I used it in the film too with Girish’s blessings. I think the theatre actors have a lot of depth and discipline. I asked Vansh if he wanted to be a part of my film and he readily agreed, and you put him with a star like Preity Zinta, nothing beats it. I must say, Preity was very generous to Vansh.

The Best Actress at the Chicago Film Festival 2008 – Preity Zinta! Will she be able to surpass the best?
(Laughs) I think it’ll be really immodest if I said that this isn’t her best performance to date and the other directors won’t like me too much. But I think she is superb in the film and personally, it’s a world class performance.

Preity is also nominated under the Best Actress at the Genie Awards 2009 along with top international celebs, right?
Yes, you’re right. She is nominated for the Best Actress in a Leading Role along with Susan Sarandon. The awards are to take place next month in April.

What is it that you’re trying to say with Heaven On Earth?
That you can’t be simplistic about it. It’s out dated now that the West has a lot to offer than India. So if anybody would be able to revisit the fact that perhaps, they should not be so ready to leave home. As the character says in the film – Sometimes it’s better to live in Hell than in Heaven where there is more self dignity.

Sum up your film Videsh in one word please.
Videsh is a celebration of the imagination.

Source

Leave a Reply

