Preity’s special 34

Preity’s special 34

Photobucket

This year, Preity Zinta celebrated her birthday on January 31 by adopting 34 orphans from the Mother Miracle school at Hrishikesh.

A tad reluctant to talk about her good deed, Preity said, ‘Yes, I’ve adopted 34 girls. I’ll be entirely looking after their upbringing right from their education, food, clothes etc. You’ve no idea how wonderful it feels to hear the excited chatter of all those girls together as they welcome you into their lives.’

Earlier, Preity was planning to gift herself a car for her birthday. ‘But after these girls came into my life, any other birthday present seemed redundant, self-indulgent and vulgar. I did have a small get-together for family and very close friends.

I pampered only my dog and not myself on my birthday. I sent her to the beauty parlour. Believe me, she came back looking like a bigger rock star than I can ever hope to be,’ Preity laughed and said.

Preity intends to be actively involved in looking after the girls at the Mother Miracle. She said, ‘Those are my children now, my responsibility. I’ll be constantly connected with them and I’ll visit them in Hrishikesh twice a year.’

Far from finishing off her responsibility after financing these girls, Preity plans to progressively enhance her social responsibilities. ‘For a while now, I’ve been thinking of what I can do to help the underprivileged especially the girl child.

The horrors of foeticide and rampant child abuse are not just news headlines for me. I had to do something. These 34 girls are just a beginning . I plan to adopt a couple more every year during my birthday. I can’t think of a better gift to myself,’ added Preity.

Now, Preity feels a sense of inner satisfaction. ‘This birthday I’ve been singing and dancing all day. My folks think I’ve gone mad. But to do something that goes beyond your own happiness is a high I cannot explain. All of us should try it,’ she said.

Source

Leave a Reply

